Why you should never go grocery shopping on your period

For the past few years and ever since I can remember, I’ve been trying to lose weight. I have been on so many diets and cleanses, I could write a book. I finally figured out recently that what I need is regular exercise and a healthy eating plan. so I’ve been trying to work out consistently and eat healthy and while I can testify that my energy levels have shot to the roof, my weight loss has been really slow. It’s been a rollercoaster ride with numerous ups and downs. The biggest problem has not been how hard it is to lose the pounds but how easy it is to gain them back. And every month just as I’m starting to think I’m making substantial progress, nature throws me a biological curve ball.

The thing is I have a sweet tooth and I manage to keep it in check most of the times. But there’s something about a period that brings out a sugar monster in me. I thought there was something wrong with me and I immediately visited my trusted doctor, Dr Google MD, who informed me that it’s a common problem and most women go through it. So she (yes, I think google is a female) advised me to stay away from sweet junk food and instead have naturally sweet food and fruit. I have been trying to stick to this for a while now until last week.

For some evil reason, our monthly grocery shopping coincided with my period this time. As we slowly walked through those aisles all I could see was all the forbidden stuff. I usually have to keep The Hub from the junk food and keep pulling it out of the cart the second he puts the stuff in but this time there was no resistance. I let him get all the biscuits he wanted, I let him add a whole tub of ice cream and when we were just by the counter, I let him pull in a few packets of marshmallows too. I also picked a few packets of crisps, a huge tub of yogurt, a few more biscuits that The Hub left out, chocolate flavoured cereal and huge bar of chocolate. This wasn’t me, I was possessed I tell you! I would never do such a thing but there I was piling all those despicable things in our cart.

When we got home I didn’t even wait to settle down, I dove straight into the food. I had crisps for dinner alongside a bit of chocolate. And as we watched TV we snacked on ice cream and biscuits. All the foods that I usually manage to evade were right here, within my hands reach. It was exhilarating, my mouth was never lonely. I ate my cramps away, with loads of chocolate and pain killers. The whole time I was just dreading stepping on the scale because I knew the havoc I was creating. Four days later the pain was gone and so was the food. I need an intervention you guys! I stepped on the scale yesterday and I have gained one and a half kilogrammes in 4 days. It takes me a whole month to lose that!

So here I am now, working out twice a day to correct my wrongs. I don’t want anything chocolate near me though I suspect 20% of my body is currently made of it. I have figured out the problem and I’m addressing it immediately. The solution is quite simple; I’m never going grocery shopping on my period ever again.

4 thoughts on “Why you should never go grocery shopping on your period

  1. ha ha! I love this, and can completely relate! Just remember this tip that helps me, if you don’t have it in the house, you can’t eat it! (Although I know when it’s that time of the month, logic goes out the window!) Good luck with your weight loss journey, I’ll be following you as I attempt my own!

    Like

What is your opinion?

